

## JOINT OVERVIEW AND SCRUTINY SELECT COMMITTEE

MINUTES of a MEETING held at COUNTY HALL, TROWBRIDGE on 16<sup>th</sup> February 2010.

# PRESENT:

### **Overview & Scrutiny Management and Resources Select Committee**

Cllr Chris Caswill
Cllr Tony Deane (Vice Chairman)
Cllr Ricky Rogers
Cllr Charles Howard
Cllr Jacqui Lay
Cllr Jeff Osborn (Chairman)
Cllr Bill Roberts
Cllr Ricky Rogers
Cllr Judy Rooke
Cllr Jonathon Seed

#### **Environment Select Committee**

Cllr Rosemary Brown (Vice Chairman)
Cllr Jose Green
Cllr Mollie Groom (Chairman)
Cllr Alan Hill
Cllr Chris Humphries

#### Children's Services Select Committee

Cllr Mary Douglas Cllr Helen Osborn
Cllr Peter Fuller Cllr Pip Ridout
Cllr J. Hubbard (Vice Chairman) Cllr Carole Soden (Chairman)

Cllr Jacqui Lay Cllr Bill Moss

#### **Health & Adult Social Care Select Committee**

Cllr Peter Colmer
Cllr Christine Crisp
Cllr Peter Davis
Cllr Mike Hewitt (Chairman)
Cllr Mike Hewitt (Chairman)
Cllr Nina Philips
Cllr Pip Ridout (Vice Chairman)
Cllr Bill Roberts
Brian Warwick (WSUN)

### **ALSO PRESENT**:

#### <u>Cabinet Member/Portfolio Holder:</u>

Cllr Jane Scott (Leader)

Cllr Keith Humphries

Cllr John Thomson (Deputy Leader)

Cllr Jerry Kunkler

Cllr Alan Macrae

Cllr Richard Beattie Cllr Alan Macrae
Cllr John Brady Cllr Jemima Milton

Cllr Richard Clewer Cllr Christopher Newbury

Cllr Chris Cochrane Cllr John Noeken
Cllr Linda Conley Cllr Toby Sturgis
Cllr Fleur de Rhe Philipe Cllr Dick Tonge
Cllr Richard Gamble Cllr Stuart Wheeler

Cllr Howard Greenman Cllr Christopher Williams Cllr Lionel Grundy

### Other Councillors:

Cllr Desna Allen Cllr Julian Johnson

Cllr Richard Britton Cllr Christopher Newbury

Cllr Philip Brown
Cllr Trevor Carbin
Cllr Robert Hall
Cllr Bridget Wayman

Cllr David Jenkins Cllr Roy While

### 1. Election of Chairman for the Meeting

Cllr Jeff Osborn was elected Chairman for the meeting.

### 2. Apologies and Membership

Apologies for absence were received from:

Cllr Nick Fogg (substitute was Cllr Christopher Newbury)

**Cllr Nigel Carter** 

Cllr Peter Doyle

Cllr Brian Dalton

Phil Matthews (Wiltshire Involvement Network - HASC)

Mr Neil Owen (School Representative – Childrens SC)

Mrs Rosheen Ryan (School Representative – Childrens SC)

Dr Mike Thompson (Co-opted member – Childrens SC)

### 3. Public Participation

There was no public participation.

### 4. Explanation of Proceedings

A report outlining the proceedings of the meeting was circulated with the Agenda. The Chairman introduced the report and reminded all present that the purpose of the meeting was to allow non-executive councillors the opportunity to question the Leader and relevant Cabinet Member on the content of the budget prior to it's submission to Council on Tuesday 23 February 2010.

### 5. 2010/11 Revenue Budget and Capital Programme

The Committee was invited to question the proposed budget in detail under each of the Departmental categories as follow:

Overall Budget
Department of Children and Education
Department of Community Services
Department of Neighbourhood and Planning
Department of Public Health and Wellbeing
Department of Resources and Chief Executive
Any other strategic and operational matters

A report outlining the main issues raised during discussion is attached as an appendix.

#### Resolved:

To recommend that the Council take into account the main issues raised at the special meeting of the Joint Overview and Scrutiny Committee when determining the 2010/11 Budget and Council Tax.

(Duration of Meeting: 10.30 am – 13.30 pm)

The Officer who has produced these minutes is Sharon Smith Democratic & Members' Services, direct line: (01225) 718378.